Principal Investigators

Our program includes mentored investigators who are supported through a career-building research experience by being paired with a senior research faculty member. The mentor process is designed to enhance the junior investigators' abilities to attain advanced research skills and prepare them to independently compete for extramural funding.


Portrait of Dr. Body

Simon Body, MD, MBCHB, MPH

Vice Chair, Research; Anesthesia


Rami Burstein, PhD

Vice Chair, Neuroscience

Portrait of Dr. Longhi

Maria Serena Longhi, MD, PhD

Deputy Director, Center for Inflammation Research

Robson Simon_80x100

Simon C. Robson, MBChB, PhD, FCRP

Hepatology; Director, Center for Inflammation Research


Balachundhar Subramaniam, MD, MPH

Director, Center for Anesthesia Research Excellence (CARE); Anesthesia

Daniel S. Talmor, MD, MPH

Chair of Anesthesia, Critical Care, and Pain Medicine 



M. Moris Aner, MD

Director, Chronic Inpatient Pain Services; Anesthesia 


Somnath Bose, MD



Sait Ashina, MD

Neurology; Comprehensive Headache Center

Matthias Eikermann, MD

Vice Chair, Faculty Affairs; Anesthesia

Brian P. O'Gara, MD

Director, Resident Research


Jatinder S. Gill, MD, MBBS

Anesthesia, Pain Medicine

Philip E. Hess, MD

Director, Obstetric Anesthesia; Program Director, Obstetric Anesthesia Fellowship

Portrait of Dr. Jackson

Cullen D. Jackson, PhD

Director, Innovation; Anesthesia

Stephanie B. Jones, MD

Vice Chair, Education

John J. Kowalczyk, MD


Cindy M. Ku, MD

Associate Program Director, Anesthesia Residency


Yunping Li, MD, MSc

Anesthesia, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Stephen H. Loring, MD, PhD


Feroze Mahmood, MD

Director, Cardiac Anesthesia;  Director, Perioperative Echocardiography; Anesthesia

Robina Matyal, MD

Director, Vascular Anesthesia; Anesthesia

John D. Mitchell, MD

Program Director, Anesthesia Residency


Achikam Oren-Grinberg, MD, MS


Rodrigo Noseda, DVM, PhD


Todd W. Sarge, MD

Director, Critical Care Medicine; Anesthesia

Aaron J. Schain, PhD


Shahzad Shaefi, MD

Program Director, Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesia Fellowship; Program Director, Critical Care Fellowship; Anesthesia

Thomas T. Simopoulos, MD

Chief, Division of Pain Medicine; Co-Director, Spine Center

Andrew M. Strassman, PhD

Anesthesia; Neurology