WELCOME TO THE WORLD OF GLUTEN-FREE LIVING!
- A gluten-free diet is full of fresh fruits, vegetables, meat, fish, poultry, nuts, seeds, oils, and milk products.
- There are plenty of gluten-free grains and starches to eat, such as rice, potato, sweet potato, corn, and many others.
- There are also many commercial gluten-free products to replace the usual American staples of bread, bagels, cereals, pasta, crackers, and baking mixes, etc.
- You will want to avoid any food made with or containing:
- Brewer's yeast
- Oats (unless oats are specially produced labeled gluten-free oats). For info on oats, please visit page 11 of Following the Gluten-Free Diet.
- Buy only those grain and grain products that are labeled "gluten-free" because of the possibility of cross contamination with the gluten-containing grains listed above. 1
Click here for a 15-page Gluten-Free Diet guide.
TIPS TO GET STARTED:
Find a support group in your area. The national support groups have listings of groups all across the country. Make an appointment with a registered dietitian skilled in celiac disease. A dietitian can help you learn to read labels carefully, look for the hidden gluten sources in your diet and help you plan a healthy diet.
TAKE HOME MESSAGES:
- There are many, many foods which are naturally gluten-free and safe to eat.
- Remove the obvious gluten-containing foods first. Stock your kitchen with safe foods. Keep a pen and paper handy to write down new foods you like.
- Stay connected! Talk to your doctor, your dietitian, and other people with celiac disease who can support you in your new, healthy diet and lifestyle.
RESOURCES TO GET YOU STARTED:
- Thompson T, Lee AR. Gluten contamination of grains, seeds, and flours in the United States: a pilot study. JADA, 2010,110(6):937-940.
Revision Date: 11-2-12
Author: Melinda Dennis, MS, RD, LDN
Editors: Anne Lee, MSEd, RD, LD and Daniel Leffler, MD, MS