Simple Label Reading
- Read the label of all the foods you buy.
- Look for "gluten-free" on the label.
- If a food is labeled gluten-free you may eat it.
- If a food is not labeled gluten-free you must read the ingredients list.
- As you read the ingredients list look for the words: 1,2
- Oats (See Level 2 and Oats section for more details)
- Brewer's yeast
- Yeast extract
TAKE HOME MESSAGES:
- Always read food labels.
- Look for the words "gluten-free."
- You may eat foods labeled gluten-free.
- If a food is not labeled gluten-free, read the ingredients list and Contains statement.
- If you see the words "wheat," "barley," "rye," "oats," "malt," "brewer's yeast," or "yeast extract" do not eat the food.
- Sample ingredients list of a product to AVOID:
Organic whole wheat flour, water, rolled oats, butter (milk), salt, brown sugar, active dry yeast
- Look below the ingredients list for a Contains statement.
- Check to see if the Contains statement lists the word "wheat."
- Sample Contains statement:
Contains Wheat, Milk
- If you see the word "wheat" in the Contains statement, do not eat this food.
- Thompson, T. ADA Pocket Guide to Gluten-Free Strategies for Clients with Multiple Diet Restrictions. American Dietetic Association. Chicago, IL, 2011.
- Celiac Disease Toolkit. American Dietetic Association. Chicago, IL, 2011.
- Gluten-Free Dietitian. Update on gluten-free status of yeast extract. http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/newsletter/2013/02/07/update-on-gluten-free-status-of-yeast-extract/. Accessed December 4, 2013.
Revision Date: 12-4-13
Author: Tricia Thompson, MS, RD
Editors: Melinda Dennis, MS, RD, LDN and Daniel Leffler, MD, MS