Meet Our Aortic Disease Physicians

The Aortic Center's multidisciplinary team works together to evaluate and treat patients with aortic disease. 


Marc Schermerhorn, MD

Marc L. Schermerhorn, MD

Chief, Vascular and Endovascular Surgery; Co-Director, Aortic Center

Kamal R. Khabbaz, MD

Chief, Cardiac Surgery;    Co-Director, Aortic Center; Thoracic and Cardiac Surgery

Medical Director

Brett Carroll, MD

Brett Carroll, MD

Director, Vascular Medicine; Cardiovascular Disease

Cardiac Surgeons

Louis M. Chu, MD

Advanced Heart Failure; Transplant Cardiology; Cardiac Surgery; Surgical Director, ECMO & Temporary MCS Program

David Liu, MD

David C. Liu, MD

Advanced Heart Failure; Transplant Cardiology; Surgical Director, Ventricular Assist Device Program; Thoracic and Cardiac Surgery

Venkatachalam Senthilnathan, MD

Cardiac Surgery

Vascular/ Endovascular Surgeons

Elliot L. Chaikof, MD, PhD

Chair, Roberta and Stephen R. Weiner Department of Surgery

Giovanni A. Ferrante, MD

Vascular Surgery

Allen D. Hamdan, MD

Clinical Director, Vascular and Endovascular Surgery

Chantel Hile

Chantel Hile, MD

Vascular Surgery

Andy M. Lee, MD

Andy Lee, MD

Vascular Surgery

Lars Stangenberg

Lars Stangenberg, MD, PhD

Vascular Surgery

Mark Wyers, MD

Mark C. Wyers, MD

Director of Endovascular Therapy

Cardiovascular Medicine

Usman Tahir, MD

Usman Tahir, MD

Director, Cardiovascular Genetics; Co-Director, HCM Clinic; Cardiovascular Disease

Anna K. Krawisz, MD

Anna Krawisz, MD

Vascular Medicine, General Cardiology

Dr. Schmaier

Alec A. Schmaier, MD, PhD

Cardiovascular Disease