BIDMC and HMS Teaching Awards

Each June marks not only the end of an academic year for medical students and residents, but also a time to recognize individual faculty and housestaff for particularly noteworthy accomplishments as teachers and as care providers. Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC) holds a special place within the Harvard Medical School (HMS) community for its commitment to, and excellence in, medical education. This reputation is well supported by the number and diversity of HMS awards received by BIDMC faculty each year.

We are delighted to honor and congratulate the all recipients of year-end awards from Harvard Medical School and from individual departments within BIDMC.

S. Robert Stone Award for Excellence in Teaching

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC), in conjunction with Harvard Medical School, bestows one very special teaching award each year. The S. Robert Stone Award for Excellence in Teaching is given in honor of the late past Board Chair of Beth Israel Hospital by his children. The award has been presented annually since 1981 to a member of the Harvard Faculty at BIDMC for outstanding achievement in the teaching of medical students and housestaff. Nominations for the award are received from those who know our faculty the best - our students, residents and fellows.

Please join us as we honor the 2019 S. Robert Stone Award for Excellence in Teaching Recipients

Stewart H. Lecker, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Director, Nephrology Fellowship, BIDMC

Dr. Stewart Lecker is Director of the Nephrology Fellowship program at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, and a core faculty member for students in the Homeostasis 2 course. Students who nominated Dr. Lecker for this award wrote that he "is the best professor and attending I have worked with in my four years at HMS. He managed not only to simplify complex concepts for us, but to inspire interest in material that most students consider among the most difficult and humbling – renal physiology." He "would always explain the physiological principles to help me understand for a lifetime rather than simply memorize an answer. This speaks volumes to his priorities in teaching and to his passion for what he does."

Previous recipients of the S. Robert Stone Award are: Donald Antonioli, MD, Patricia Come, MD, Margot Kruskall, MD, Lewis Landsberg, MD, Henry Klapholz, MD, Steven Weinberger, MD, Leon Goldman, MD, Ary Goldberger, MD, George Kurland, MD, Booker Bush, MD, Mark Peppercorn, MD, William Cochran, MD, Michael Ronthal, MD, Gillian Lieberman, MD, Sanjiv Chopra, Michael Cahalane, MD, Mitchell T. Rabkin, MD (Honorary), John P. Doweiko, MD, Johanna A. Pallotta, MD, Mary Fishman, MD, Frank W. Drislane, MD, William Silen, MD (Honorary), Reed E. Drews, MD, Harvey Goldman, MD (Honorary), Richard M. Schwartzstein, MD, Helen Shields, MD, Ronald Silvestri, MD, Hope Ricciotti, MD, C. Christopher Smith, MD, David H. Roberts, MD, Sara Fazio, MD, Theodore Steinman, MD, Peter Clardy, MD, Amy Ship, MD, John Mitchell, MD, Bernard Chang, MD, Mark P. Callery, MD, Adolf W. Karchmer, MD, Melanie Hoenig, MD, Thomas Lamont, MD, Grace Huang, MD, Paul Sprin, MD, Dara Brodsky, MD, Michael Kahn, MD, Anita Vanka, MD, Yvonne Gomez-Carrion, MD, Julius Yang, MD, Penny Greenstein, MD