October 3, 2018: Annual Meeting of the Boards

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center welcomed nearly 350 guests at the Four Seasons Boston on October 3, 2018, for its Annual Meeting of the Boards. Through remarks by Board of Directors Chair Carol F. Anderson and BIDMC and Beth Israel Deaconess system Chief Executive Officer Kevin Tabb, M.D., attendees learned of the medical center’s past accomplishments, its present successes, and its goals for the future.

BIDMC President Peter J. Healy presented the Daniel J. Jick Excellence in Leadership Award to two essential members of the BIDMC leadership community: Director Danielle Remis Hackel and Board of Directors Vice Chair Thomas J. DeSimone, in recognition of their demonstrated selflessness, dedication, and enthusiasm for upholding BIDMC’s values and vision. Director and Governance and Nominating Committee Chair Alan Rottenberg then formally introduced and welcomed new Board members to the BIDMC family.

Subsequently, the evening shifted gears to highlight the BIDMC Cancer Center. Section of Hematological Malignancies and Bone Marrow Transplant Chief and Immunotherapy Institute Co-Director David Avigan, M.D., and NBC 10 Boston Reporter and Anchor Natasha Verma took the stage for a conversation about Verma’s own battle with cancer; after being diagnosed, she came to BIDMC for treatment. As a grateful patient, she interviewed Dr. Avigan about his pioneering immunotherapy research, through which he and his team are developing and testing groundbreaking personalized cancer vaccines that promise to transform the field of cancer care.

Annual Meeting of Board Photo Gallery