World-Class Care to Prevent and Treat Lymphedema

BIDMC is one of the few hospitals in the world — and the only one in New England — to offer patients innovative bypass surgery to prevent lymphedema. We also offer lymph node transfer surgery for patients with chronic lymphedema.

Our multidisciplinary team

Dhruv Singhal, MD, Director of Lymphatic Surgery at BIDMC, is a world leader in this field. Dr. Singhal collaborates with a multidisciplinary team of experts at BIDMC to offer you the best possible care. This team includes plastic surgeons, surgical oncologists, vascular surgeons, general surgeons, interventional radiologists, physical therapists, and professionals in nuclear medicine and body imaging.

Meet Our Team


Dhruv Singhal, MD

Director of Lymphatic Surgery

Brett Carroll, MD

Brett Carroll, MD

Director, Vascular Medicine; Medical Director, Aortic Center

Kathy Shillue

Kathleen Shillue, PT, DPT, OCS

Clinical Director, Outpatient Rehabilitation Services


Ted James, MD, MS, FACS

Chief, Breast Surgical Oncology, and Co-Director, BreastCare Center

Daniel Jones, MD, MS, FACS

Chief of Minimally Invasive Surgery and Bariatric Surgery

Bernard Lee, MD, MPH, MBA

Chief, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Ayesha Abdeen, MD

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, Harvard Medical School

Jonathan F. Critchlow, MD, FACS

General Surgery

Eugene Fukudome, MD

Instructor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School

Mary Jane Houlihan, MD

Breast Surgery

Samuel J. Lin, MD, MBA

Associate Professor, Surgery, Harvard Medical School

Nicholas E. Tawa, MD, PhD

Surgical Oncology

Mark C. Wyers, MD

Director of Endovascular Therapy


Colleen Kennedy

Colleen Kennedy, PT, GCS, CES

Board Certified Specialist in Geriatric Physical Therapy, Certified Edema Specialist

Stacy Potvin

Stacy Potvin, PTA

Physical Therapist Assistant III

Tegan Guilfoyle, PT

Physical Therapy


Muneeb Ahmed, MD

Chief, Vascular and Interventional Radiology

Kevin J. Donohoe, MD

Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging

Martin P. Smith, MD

Abdominal Imaging (MRI), Community Network Services

Leo Tsai, MD, PhD

Abdominal Imaging, MRI


Sarah Thomson, LPN

Serena Skiffington, NP

Research Team

Research Fellows in Surgery

Anna Rose Johnson

Andres Doval, MD


James R. Rodrigue, PhD 


Aaron Fleishman, MPH

Clinical Research Administrator

Claire Rosenwasser, MS

Clinical Research Coordinator

Leo Magrini, BS

Clinical Research Assistant