About Our Community Advisory Committee

The Community Benefits Advisory Committee (previously known as the Community Advisory Committee) informs and guides BIDMC's Community-based Health Initiative process. The committee includes leaders and local residents from BIDMC's Community Benefits Service Area who represent local public health departments, municipalities, education, housing, social services, regional planning and transportation agencies, community health centers, the private sector, and community-based organizations. Committee members are committed to engaging residents to make sure their voices are heard.

Community Benefits Advisory Committee meetings are open to the public with time dedicated for public comment at the beginning of meetings. If you would like to submit a written comment to the committee for discussion, you may do so at any time, but only those received more than five (5) business days before a meeting will be considered by the Community Benefits Advisory Committee for that meeting.

All meeting agendas, attendance and minutes are posted on this web page.

Community Benefits Advisory Committee Meeting Information

Past Community Benefits Advisory Committee Meetings:

Community Benefits Advisory Committee Members

  • Walter Armstrong – BIDMC, Senior Leadership Designee
  • Elizabeth Browne – Charles River Community Health
  • Chaplain Tina Chery – Louis D. Brown Peace Institute
  • Lauren Gabovitch, LICSW – BIDMC, Social Work
  • Richard Giordano – Fenway Community Development Corporation
  • Sarah Hamilton – Medical Academic & Scientific Community Organization (MASCO)
  • Nancy Kasen – BILH, Community Benefits and Community Relations
  • Barry Keppard – Metropolitan Area Planning Council
  • Phillomin Laptiste – Bowdoin Street Health Center
  • Theresa Lee – Resident of Community Benefits Service Area
  • Angie Liou – Asian Community Development Corporation
  • James Morton – YMCA of Greater Boston
  • Sandy Novak, MSW – Universal Access Council
  • Holly Oh, MD – The Dimock Center
  • Alex Oliver-Davila – Sociedad Latina
  • Triniese Polk – Boston Public Health Commission, Office of Health Equity
  • Joanne Pokaski – BIDMC, Workforce Development and Community Relations
  • Jane Powers, LICSW – Fenway Health
  • Luis Prado – City of Chelsea
  • Richard Rouse – Mission Hill Main Streets
  • Jerry Rubin – Jewish Vocational Services
  • Robert Torres – BIDMC, Community Benefits
  • LaShonda Walker-Robinson, LICSW – BIDMC, Social Work
  • Fred Wang – BIDMC Trustee Emeritus