Albert M. Galaburda, MD

Dr. Albert Galaburda is a native of Chile. He is the Emily Fisher-Landau Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School, a senior neurologist at BIDMC, and the co-Director of Harvard University’s Interfaculty Initiative on Mind Brain and Behavior.

Dr. Galaburda’s research has studied the biological underpinnings of language-based language disorders, and his clinical work has been in cognitive neurology, previously serving as Chief of the Division of Cognitive Neurology in the Department of Neurology at BIDMC.

Daniele Ölveczky MD MS

Dr. Daniele Ölveczky, a native of Trinidad and Tobago, attended Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine where she obtained an MD and a Masters degree in neuroscience. She completed her residency at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center followed by a geriatrics fellowship at BIDMC and BWH. In 2017 she was the recipient of the Academy of Medical Educators Award given to a single faculty member for distinguished participation, contribution and commitment to educational excellence and promotion of best teaching practices. As Chair of the HMS Academy Cross Cultural Interest Goup, she led faculty development workshops at the HMS Academy about the importance of diversity and the Hidden Curriculum in medical education, as well as negotiating racism at the bedside, which was the highest attended workshop in the history of the HMS Academy. She has been named the inaugural Officer of Inclusion for the Department of Internal Medicine. In this capacity she will work to improve the retention of URM faculty and the climate of inclusion in the department of medicine. A major focus of her role is creating novel faculty development sessions about unconscious bias and health justice.

Administrative Assistant

Kelly Anastasio

Kelly helps further the mission of the Office for Diversity, Inclusion and Career Advancement by providing administrative support for the office. She also supports the Office for Academic Careers and Faculty Development, the BIDMC Academy of Medical Educators, and the Rabkin Fellowship, all housed under the Carl J. Shapiro Institute for Education and Research.