The Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC) Forum is an active committee at BIDMC that meets approximately every 6 weeks. Committee membership includes program directors, house staff and representatives from nursing, health care quality, legal and the office of business conduct. As a subcommittee of the Medical Executive Committee (MEC), the GMEC reports to the MEC on a regular basis.

The GMEC Executive Council is a subset of the GMEC. The GMEC Executive Committee will be comprised of program directors and faculty, coordinators, administrators, and trainees, and will have opportunities to review program information at greater length than the time usually allowed by the larger GMEC Forum meetings, which will concentrate on dissemination of information.

The GMEC is committed to ensuring that all BIMDC education programs involving house staff (both ACGME and non ACGME programs) are of high quality and provide appropriate education and support to their residents or fellows. The committee reviews postgraduate medical education programs, policies and compliance with regulations put forth by the ACGME, the BoRM and other regulatory agencies such as CMS. Sharing innovative ideas in education and brainstorming difficult common program requirements are a regular feature of these meetings. 

The committee welcomes input from resident and fellow representatives at each meeting. For questions about the committee, including requests for past minutes, future meeting times or membership questions please contact Julie Beckerdite, Administrative Director, GME office.

GMEC Executive Council

Carrie Tibbles, MD - Chair GMEC 
Designated Institutional Official/Director, GME 
Emergency Medicine 

Julie Beckerdite 
Administrative Director, GME 

Richard Schwartzstein, MD 
Center for Education 

John Mitchell, MD 
Stephanie Jones, MD 


Priscilla Slanetz, MD 
Diagnostic Radiology 

Carlo Rosen, MD 
David Chiu, MD 
Josh Solano, MD 
Emergency Medicine 

Tara Kent, MD 
General Surgery 

Reed Drews, MD 

Wendy Stead, MD 
Infectious Disease 

Christopher Smith, MD 
Eileen Reynolds, MD 
Anjala Tess, MD 
Internal Medicine 

Stewart Lecker, MD 

Frank Drislane, MD 
Penny Greenstein, MD 

Monica Mendiola, MD 

Richard Haspel, MD 

Christine Wittman, MD 

Emily Armstrong, JD 

Legal Counsel 

Katherine Armstrong 
Nicole Bagg 
Ruth Colman 
Judi Hansjon 
Susan Kilbride 

Program Coordinators