• Read the label of all the foods you buy.
  • Look for "gluten-free" on the label.
  • If a food is labeled gluten-free you may eat it.
  • If a food is not labeled gluten-free you must read the ingredients list.
  • As you read the ingredients list look for the words: 1,2



  • Always read food labels.
  • Look for the words "gluten-free."
  • You may eat foods labeled gluten-free.
  • If a food is not labeled gluten-free, read the ingredients list and Contains statement.
  • If you see the words "wheat," "barley," "rye," "oats," "malt," "brewer's yeast," or "yeast extract" do not eat the food.
  • Sample ingredients list of a product to AVOID: 
    Organic whole wheat flour, water, rolled oats, butter (milk), salt, brown sugar, active dry yeast
  • Look below the ingredients list for a Contains statement.
  • Check to see if the Contains statement lists the word "wheat."
  • Sample Contains statement: 
    Contains Wheat, Milk
  • If you see the word "wheat" in the Contains statement, do not eat this food.


  1. Thompson, T. ADA Pocket Guide to Gluten-Free Strategies for Clients with Multiple Diet Restrictions. American Dietetic Association. Chicago, IL, 2011.
  2. Celiac Disease Toolkit. American Dietetic Association. Chicago, IL, 2011.
  3. Gluten-Free Dietitian. Update on gluten-free status of yeast extract. Accessed December 4, 2013.

Revision Date: 12-4-13 
Author: Tricia Thompson, MS, RD 
Editors: Melinda Dennis, MS, RD, LDN and Daniel Leffler, MD, MS

CeliacNow Disclaimer