• You can eat many grains, flours, and starches, including:
    • Corn
    • Rice
    • Sorghum
    • Millet
    • Teff
    • Wild rice
    • Amaranth
    • Buckwheat
    • Quinoa
    • Soy
    • Tapioca
    • Arrowroot
  • These grains, flours, and starches are naturally gluten-free. They do not by nature contain harmful protein.
  • But these grains, flours, and starches may be contaminated with gluten from wheat, barley, and rye. 1 


  • When a gluten-free grain is contaminated with a gluten-containing grain it is called cross-contamination or cross contact.
    • Cross-contamination can occur when a gluten-free grain is grown, harvested, transported, processed, or stored with or close to wheat, barley, or rye.
  • Whenever possible you should buy naturally gluten-free grains and flours that are labeled gluten-free. 2
  • Try to buy products made from naturally gluten-free grains, such as rice crackers, rice noodles, rice and corn based breakfast cereal, and corn tortillas that are labeled gluten-free. 2
  • Based on proposed rules, labeled gluten-free food should contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten.


  • There are many naturally gluten-free grains, flours, and starches.
  • These foods may be cross contaminated with gluten.
  • Buy labeled gluten-free products whenever possible.


  1. Thompson T, Lee AR, Grace T. Contamination of Naturally Gluten-Free Grains, Seeds, and Flours in the United States: A Pilot Study. J Am Diet Assoc. 2010;110:937-940.
  2. Celiac Disease Toolkit. American Dietetic Association. Chicago, IL, 2011.

Revision Date: 8-29-12 
Author: Tricia Thompson, MS, RD 
Editors: Melinda Dennis, MS, RD, LDN and Daniel Leffler, MD, MS

CeliacNow Disclaimer