To find a doctor, call 800-667-5356 or click below:

Find a Doctor

Request an Appointment

left banner
right banner
Smaller Larger

Stroke Award

Stroke Award 2010

For the second year in a row Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital-Needham (BID-Needham) has been recognized for its American Stroke Association (ASA) Gold Level Performance and adherence to quality care for stroke patients. Pictured are Dorothy McWeeney, RN, Director of Health Care Quality and Patient Safety, BID-Needham, Gay Calo, RN, BID-Needham with and Charles Pozner, President of the Founders Affiliate of the American Heart Association

  • Date: 6/3/2010

BID-Needham was honored recently during the statewide Paul Coverdell Stroke Collaborative Reaching for Excellence Conference. Dr. Charles Pozner, President of the Founders Affiliate of the American Heart Association, recognized BID-Needham for its gold level performance in stroke care over the past year. The hospital was also recognized for its participation in the Paul Coverdell National Acute Stroke Registry for four years and its overall commitment to stroke care quality improvement.

The guidelines for these achievement awards come from the American Stroke Association, Get With the Guidelines program. A hospital must maintain 85% or better adherence for twenty four consecutive months in all seven patient quality standards to receive a performance award.

The BID-Needham Stroke Committee's focus is on educating people about the signs of stroke and the importance of seeking immediate help. Both are key to early intervention and improved outcomes. Wallet size stroke awareness cards are available for patients and the community.

BID-Needham Stroke Committee members are: Margot Geffroy, MD, GiGi Girgis, MD, Marcie Rubin, MD, Iryna Chastain, MD, Dorothy McWeeney, RN, Gay Calo, RN, Adrienne Ting, RN, Maureen Cooper, RN, Chris McKay, RN, Merrill Adler, MSW, Ms. Karen Foulkrod, Stephanie DiRocco, MS, RD, LDN, Martin[Goldberg, RPH, and Marina Shnayderman, RPH., Merrill Adler Director Social Services, Dr. Earl Woodman, MD, and Richard Fargo, Radiology.