beth israel deaconess medical center a harvard medical school teaching hospital

To find a doctor, call 800-667-5356 or click below:

Find a Doctor

Request an Appointment

left banner
right banner
Smaller Larger

Wheat Starch

KEY POINTS:

  • You may eat food containing wheat starch if it is labeled gluten-free.
  • Manufacturers of gluten-free foods in the United States usually use corn starch rather than wheat starch in their products.
  • Manufacturers of gluten-free foods in Europe sometimes use wheat starch in their products.
  • If you buy a food labeled gluten-free in the United States that is imported from Europe it may contain wheat starch.
  • If you don't want to eat gluten-free foods containing wheat starch, read the ingredients list. Wheat starch will be listed if it is an ingredient.
  • Avoid foods containing wheat starch that are NOT labeled gluten-free. Also avoid foods containing wheat starch that are labeled "low gluten."

TAKE HOME MESSAGES:

  • You may eat food made with wheat starch if it is labeled gluten-free.
  • You should not eat food made with wheat starch if it is NOT labeled gluten-free.

References:

  1. Thompson T. Oats and Wheat Starch. In Real Life with Celiac Disease: Troubleshooting and Thriving Gluten-Free. Eds. Dennis M, Leffler D. AGA Press. Bethesda, MD. 2010.

Revision Date: 8-29-12
Author: Tricia Thompson, MS, RD
Editors: Melinda Dennis, MS, RD, LDN and Daniel Leffler, MD, MS

CeliacNow Disclaimer