beth israel deaconess medical center a harvard medical school teaching hospital

  • Contact BIDMC
  • Maps & Directions
  • Other Locations
  • Careers at BIDMC
  • Smaller Larger

Find a Doctor

Request an Appointment

Smaller Larger

Level 1 Trauma Center

What does it mean to be a Level I Trauma Center?

A Level I Trauma Center offers the highest level of trauma care available (other levels are II, III, and IV), ensuring that patients receive the best possible care regardless of the severity of their injury.

To achieve verification as a Level I Trauma Center, an organization must meet or exceed a lengthy list of strict criteria established by the ACS-COT. This status must be re-verified every three years. In 2010, BIDMC received full three-year reverification as a Level I Trauma Center, which will be valid until 2013.

Among many other requirements, a Level I Trauma Center must:

  • Admit at least 1,200 trauma patients a year, at least 240 of whom have severe injuries as measured by objective criteria
  • Have a senior (attending) surgeon dedicated to trauma patients available 24/7
  • Have an attending surgeon in the Emergency Department within 15 minutes of a trauma patient's arrival
  • Maintain a surgically directed critical care service
  • Have a full spectrum of surgical specialists available
  • Participate in the training of residents
  • Demonstrate leadership in education and outreach activities
  • Conduct trauma research
  • Participate in injury prevention and control
  • Continually evaluate and improve performance

Contact Information

Acute Care Surgery Clinic
Department of Surgery
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
West Campus, Lowry Medical Office Building, Suite 3A
110 Francis Street
Boston, MA 02215