beth israel deaconess medical center a harvard medical school teaching hospital

  • Contact BIDMC
  • Maps & Directions
  • Other Locations
  • Careers at BIDMC
  • Smaller Larger

Find a Doctor

Request an Appointment

Smaller Larger

Environmental Champions

Each year, hospital employees nominate colleagues who have championed environmentally sustainable changes in their respective areas. Winners are awarded green jackets at our annual Healthy Work Healthy Home award breakfast.

These are the recent winners:





Maria Barros    

Environmental Services

For her leadership role in creating a patient room recycling program.

Barbara Bennison

Venous Access

For championing environmental sustainability by engaging her colleagues in conversation and personally demonstrating how to be more environmentally conscious.

 Eric Brown


For coordinating the collection of surplus supplies to ensure they are donated to places that can use them.

Shelley Calder and Dr. Larry Nathanson

Emergency Department

For leading the Emergency Department through the development of an electronic medical record to capture all provider notes. This change has saved approximately three quarters of a million sheets of paper.

Alana Dale

Environmental Health and Safety

For leading the work to identify, prioritize, size and replace toxic chemicals with less toxic alternatives.

Bonnie Gallivan

Surgery Education

For championing the use of RedCap for Morbidity and Mortality conferences in order to reduce paper.

Debra Gonchar


For championing the use of reprocessed items for joint surgery. To overcome resistance, she promoted the environmental and financial benefits, as well as the success other institutions had with the process.

Michael Hanley

Food Services

For championing the composting program in the food services department. This included ensuring the retail area has access to the best compostable containers and devising a strategy to keep the program running during kitchen renovations.

Sheilah Janus and Lauren Kovach


For championing the reduction of physician junk-mail in Dermatology.

Kharma Jones    


For championing the reduction of physician junk-mail in Psychiatry.

Jae Kim


For championing recycling in Shapiro's Radiology clinic.

Riki MacKillop & Renata Vicari


For identifying and championing opportunities to make the new OB office more sustainable during the design phase and ensuring programs were maintained after occupancy. Projects include: a dishwasher to promote reusable lunch-ware, multifunctioning devices to reduce paper use and central air to replace inefficient window units.

Chip McIntosh   

Support Services

For championing sustainability while working to reduce overall hospital costs. Projects include eliminating styrofoam, increasing the use of reprocessed items and reducing the number of supplies initially brought to new patients.

Glenn Merrill-Skoloff

Hematology/Oncology Research

For championing sustainable practices in the research labs, including identifying less toxic substitutes to common research chemicals and switching to a mercury-free projector.

Meredyth Scanlon


For championing patient exam room recycling in Lexington.

2013 Winners

2012 Winners

2011 Winners

2010 Winners

2009 Winners

2008 Winners

2007 Winners

2006 Winners